Bafta TV winners to be announced

Brad TomLast Update : Sunday 8 May 2016 - 11:52 AM
Bafta TV winners to be announced

Bafta TV awards winners to be announced

Bafta preparationsImage copyright PA
Image caption Preparations are under way for this year’s ceremony at London’s Royal Festival Hall

Stars of the small screen will find out later who will be picking up prizes at this year’s Bafta Television Awards.

Among the nominees expected to attend on Sunday night are Idris Elba, Suranne Jones, Mark Rylance and Sheridan Smith.

BBC Two’s historical drama Wolf Hall leads the field with four nominations, while Peter Kay’s Car Share and This is England ’90 have three each.

This year’s ceremony, hosted by Graham Norton, is being held at London’s Royal Festival Hall.

Norton is also nominated in the entertainment performance category for BBC One’s The Graham Norton Show.

Actor and comedian Sir Lenny Henry will receive a special award for his outstanding contribution to TV.

Rylance, who won an Oscar this year, is up for best leading actor for his role as Thomas Cromwell in Wolf Hall, which is nominated in the best drama series category alongside Channel 4’s Humans and No Offence and The Last Panthers on Sky Atlantic.

Shows with most nominations

  • Wolf Hall (BBC Two)- four
  • Peter Kay’s Car Share (BBC iPlayer) – three
  • This is England ’90 (Channel 4) – three

Full list of nominations

Claire Foy has a leading actress nod for her performance as Wolf Hall’s Anne Boleyn while Anton Lesser is shortlisted for his supporting role as Sir Thomas More.

Sheridan Smith is also in the running for leading actress award, for her role as a woman with cancer in BBC One’s The C-Word.

In the same category are Suranne Jones for BBC One infidelity drama Doctor Foster and Ruth Madeley for BBC Three’s Don’t Take My Baby, about a disabled couple’s struggle to keep their newborn child.

Up against Rylance in the leading actor field are Ben Whishaw for BBC Two espionage drama London Spy, Idris Elba for BBC One crime series Luther and Stephen Graham for Shane Meadows’ This is England ’90.

Image caption Adele at the BBC, featuring Adele and Graham Norton, is up for best entertainment programme

Doctor Foster, London Spy and This is England ’90 are all nominated for best mini-series, as is Sky production The Enfield Haunting.

The C-Word is up for the single drama prize, alongside BBC One’s The Go-Between, Don’t Take My Baby and Channel 4’s Cyberbully.

Sharon Horgan is up for the best female performance in a comedy programme, for Channel 4’s Catastrophe, as are Sian Gibson, for Peter Kay’s Car Share (BBC iPlayer), Miranda Hart for Miranda (BBC One), and Michaela Coel for E4’s Chewing Gum.

Image copyright PA

Image caption Michaela Coel is nominated for female comedy performance for E4’s Chewing Gum

Hugh Bonneville is nominated for best male performance in a comedy programme, for spoof BBC documentary W1A.

Peter Kay is nominated in the same category for Car Share, alongside Javone Prince, for The Javone Prince Show (BBC Two), and Detectorists’ Toby Jones on BBC Four.

Michelle Gomez has a supporting actress nomination for her role as Missy in Doctor Who, while Adele’s BBC music special is up in the entertainment programme category.

Image caption Mark Rylance (left) is up for best leading actor for Wolf Hall, while Sir Ian McKellen has a supporting actor nod for The Dresser

Sir Ian McKellen will be hoping to win his first ever TV Bafta for his role in BBC Two’s The Dresser. He is joined in the best supporting actor category by Sir Tom Courtenay for ITV’s Unforgotten.

The Great British Bake Off has its fifth consecutive nomination in the features category, an award it won in 2012 and 2013.

As previously announced, comedy writers Ray Galton and Alan Simpson are to be honoured with a Bafta fellowship at this year’s ceremony.

The duo, who created Hancock’s Half Hour and Steptoe and Son, are credited as “the trailblazers of the situation comedy format”.

The Bafta TV awards ceremony will be broadcast on BBC One at 20:00 BST on Sunday, 8 May.

Source: BBC Entertainment

Short Link
2016-05-08 2016-05-08
Leave a Reply
Required fields*

Your email address will not be published.

Comments Rules :

عدم الإساءة للكاتب أو للأشخاص أو للمقدسات أو مهاجمة الأديان أو الذات الالهية. والابتعاد عن التحريض الطائفي والعنصري والشتائم.

Type a small note about the comments posted on your site (you can hide this note from comments settings)

Brad Tom